Planting Trees

Here I am, just about to plant a seed.  The sun is warm, the ground is prepped, and I am about to drop that tiny spark of life down into little hollow in the soil.  My first blog post.  I will do my best to water it regularly to help germinate new ideas for post and grow these ideas to something strong and fruitful.

This blog will be about information seeking.  It will be about information architecture.  It will be about taxonomies.  and metadata.  and user experience.  and data visualization.  and Web 2.0. and information literacy.  and about whatever else strikes my fancy in the realm of  information science.


I selected a detail from a Piet Mondrian painting for my header image.  Piet Mondrian is well known for his abstract paintings that revealed his impressions of order underlying the visible world.  The painting here is not so abstract as to render it unrecognizable as a tree, with a strong, stout trunk and branches reaching out to either side.  But it does reveal that the trunk is a support system for those branches.  The tree trunk and branches pattern is a common one in information structures too.  A good information structure will have a firm foundation and clear connection to the root.  As we explore the furthest branches, we can follow our way back to the trunk and back down to the ground again.

Come along with me as i plant my tree.  I sure hope it grows strong!

1 Comment

Filed under About Blogging, Art

One response to “Planting Trees

  1. Great work! I love the painting you selected for your header image – relevant on many levels…good luck and keep blogging! RG

Leave a comment